“Huh? There’s fish in it?”

AHHHH!!!! Caesar salad! My nemesis. The salad of death.  A bowl of scariness.

And it’s everyone’s favourite meal. The cheese. The dressing. The CROUTONS. Starting my career as a garde manger line cook , I have made many in my time. Mention of it makes me angry. Angry because I cannot eat it.  “What? You can’t eat Caesar salad? It’s THE BEST”, or “Huh? There’s fish in it?”

Oh hidden allergens. Anchovies are a key ingredient in Caesar salad dressing. Many do not know that Caesar salad dressing has anchovies in it. Terrible. Egg yolks are another common allergy that many people have; it is a key emulsification ingredient to bind together this creamy and delicious dressing. I, thankfully, have outgrown my egg allergy as I have grown older and can consume this delicious and indulgent food group.

So I look the other way when I see people eat it so I do not stare longingly into the dish. My eyes glaze and I try not to drool over the stranger picking up a single crouton with their fingers. But the other night, my friend, C, brought over this AMAZING salad to a family BBQ. It was the Caesar salad I always wanted.

(No Eggs, No Anchovy) Caesar Salad

From the Rebar: Modern Food Cookbook

This delicious recipe is taste so fresh with all the bright flavours of lemon and capers. Make your own croutons , gluten free if needed, to finish off this “classic” recipe.

1 roasted garlic bulb, cloves squeezed out, peel discarded

Juice of 1 lemon

1 tbsp capers

1 tbsp caper juice

1½ tsp Dijon mustard

2 garlic cloves, minced

¼ tsp salt

¼ tsp coarsely ground black pepper

⅓ cup grated parmesan cheese

1 cup extra virgin olive oil

Add all ingredients except oil to a food processor or blender; blend until almost smooth. Add olive oil in a slow, thin stream until dressing is thick and creamy.

To serve, toss enough dressing just to coat with torn romaine lettuce leaves; add homemade croutons. Garnish with parmesan cheese.

Homemade Croutons

6 slices of bread, cut into cubes (I had leftover bits of misc. bread in my freezer)

3 tbsp  butter

1 clove of minced garlic

1 tsp dried oregano

Salt and white pepper

Preheat oven to 350°F.

Melt butter in small frying pan and add the garlic. Cook the garlic until fragrant. Off heat add oregano, salt and pepper and stir until well combined.

Place bread cubes in a large bowl. Pour butter mixture over bread cubes and immediately toss to combine. Spread bread cube on a baking sheet in a single layer and bake until dry and golden brown. This will take approx. 10-15 min depending on the size of the cubes.

 

 

 

One thought on ““Huh? There’s fish in it?”

Leave a Reply

