Worcestershire sauce is a key ingredient that has anchovies in it. This secret hidden allergen can be found in many store bought salad dressings, marinades and barbeque sauce. Worcestershire sauce adds a huge punch of flavour (so I have been told) because it contains a concentrated blend of vinegar, sugar, anchovies, tamarind, garlic and other spices. You can also find it as a component in Caesar salads, hamburgers, and alcoholic beverages such as Caesar’s (Also note that Caesar’s contain Clamato juice which has clam juice as a key ingredient) or Bloody Mary’s.
- Many people do not know that anchovies are in Worcesteshire sauce! So do not assume they know this information
- Always check ingredients in any store bought dressing or sauce
- I like to specifically ask “Does this contain Worcestershire sauce?” as well as “Does this contain fish or shellfish?”, because if it is something like a burger or other food, it may be seasoned with it. The first question assumes the cook or server knows the ingredients in Worcestershire sauce.
And then I found it. At my local grocery store. Yes…vegan Worcestershire sauce. You got it! It is an expensive little bottle, but a worthwhile purchase for the fridge. I can see why people do love the stuff, and why a pantry should keep stock of it. And now my hubby, J, is addicted. I think he may have added it to some grilled chicken that he made last night and it was delicious.
Here is a link to the The Wizard’s line of sauces. The company also has a line which includes gluten free Worcestershire sauce. http://www.edwardandsons.com/thewizards_info.itml