FearlessFoods Goes Camping Part 1

A couple years ago our family planned a trip to a local island to go camping.While packing I had my mind on other things but remained organized enough to make salted caramel popcorn though, recipe here).

At the ferry terminal, as we inched pasted the long line of cars and passed through the booth, the manic search for my purse occurred. Due to the rush to get out the door to “relax” I had forgotten not only my wallet and cell phone…but the more important medicine for my food allergies. I couldn’t continue this trip without my medicine so I parted ways with my family and went home while they continued on. The guilt of forgetting my medicine and missing a vacation was a feeling I would never forget.

We all look back and laugh…and caramel corn made the rainy weather more tolerable.

I am heading out on my first family camping trip of the season.  I am super excited to get out on the road to vacation in the woods.  Where the main focus is everyone catching up on sleep and seeing how much food we can stuff in our faces. An important time to be organized and ready for any events that could arise!

As an adult with anaphylaxis, I’m in control of my decisions and take full responsibility for my actions when it comes to my safety. I chose to travel with people who are dependable and conscientious because they make me feel at ease.

Road trips always include my mental “safety first” checklist:

  • Who am I travelling with?
  • How long am I going to be out of my house?
  • Do I have enough food for that amount of time?
  • Do I have all of my medicine?
  • Is everyone that I am travelling with aware of my allergies?

This year I’ve prepared a travel kit for my household for when we travel in a car. These are things I that stay in the trunk of my care .  A trip to the dollar store, a discount grocery store and previous purchased items made this an under $5 project.

In a plastic bin:

  • A box of tissues (great in a box because they do not smush and also do not get damp or fall out when camping.
  • Disinfectant wipes (doors, tables etc but also good for minor cuts or accidents in the woods)
  • Sanitizer
  • Biodegradable toilet paper (just in case!)

It is simple technique and most already do this especially if they have kids. But it has a convenience and a place when travelling which makes it an important safely must.

One thought on “FearlessFoods Goes Camping Part 1

  1. Looking forward to the salted carmel popcorn recipe. Can’t believe the coffee pot on the camp stove!!!! Love the story – can see it play out in slow motion. Hope this year was better; I am sure it is much more fun with you there!
    xox
    Pat

Leave a Reply

